Passing of Edward Kennedy, Trans-generational Values, Maslow’s Hierarchy, Maturity in a Family Line – Part 3

Here, I want to introduce a third idea: “sins of the fathers”, recognized in psychology as “trans-generational” values and behaviors. It is interesting that medicine recognizes some illness potentials as passing from one generation to the next (directly and also by skipping generations.) Psychology recognizes the same patterns across generations. A Biblical reference to “sins of the father’s being visited upon the sons” is, for me, the same reference (but I adjust it to “sins of the parents/ancestors show up in the descendants – without gender reference!)

I do not ascribe to “sins”* as a “doomed to hell or not” teaching. I take it as an ancient statement of fundamental truth of the human condition; and in my own examinations, add another ancient teaching as relevant: “Know thyself”.

*(One of thousands of ‘tidbits’ that has found its way into my personal world view is the often made statement that the word “sin” is an archery term, meaning to “miss the mark”. Used as metaphor, it’s true – each of us misses lots of marks – but I would point out a ‘target’ is implied! For me, if a ‘goal’ is a ‘target’, then missing the target means something like “not having true and mindful aim, not sticking to the requirements of choice that will keep me on a chosen goal path. The remedy to ‘missing the mark’ is to make an adjustment in aim!”)

(See – same title, part 4)

About maggieannthoeni

A description once given of me was "rooted in the earth while roaming the stars" - and this has felt 'right'. I believe in something akin to this for each of us. I am a passionate supporter of discovering the autonomous self while serving the whole as primary intent. I believe in discovery of innate principles, clearing the overlay of socialization that obscures this from us. I believe it is our responsibility to leave no one behind - most particularly to respond to suffering as best we can whereever we find it, whenever we are made aware. I believe in this for the insect as well as the most magnificent form of humanity. I believe in brother/sisterhood without boundary. I believe in righteous indignation when it is appropriate, but do not believe in an enemy. I believe in consciousness, in intelligence, in logic, in rationality, in emotion, in transcendence - and am convinced until we generally practice explore and honor all this in ourselves, we remain profoundly immature. (I believe real maturity is known and practiced by many young children, and not enough adults!)
This entry was posted in Philosophy/Psychology/Human Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

