Economic Tyranny As Practiced In America

Dear Friends!

The weeds are ‘sort of’ organized, and the immediate construction activity completed. In my recent days of not posting, I’ve nevertheless had many ideas. I have wandered the internet, listened to internet radio which allows BBC and other sources not available otherwise.

We know internet allows conversation on all possible topics. From all that is shared, where, at what conversation, does one to stop and create a blog post? I like the sense of ‘pointing to’ that I get from a haiku poem. Very little is said, the poem’s speaker/creator merely ‘points’ to some phenomenon – draws another’s attention to whatever it is. 

Sometimes, as in my recent ‘update’ post, it appeals to me to not wax on with my own thoughts about a phenomenon, but to ‘merely point’. In my previous post, I ‘pointed’ to Jefferson, Emerson, Gandhi, and Easter Island. I still mean to share my thoughts, why I chose those links, but in recent days, as you can imagine, new waves of events, ideas, conversations, have come along.

With this post I point you to thoughts I hope you will consider. I have found a post, with much comment by readers, that encourages an awareness I believe we need. An awareness presently generally lacking.(I believe it is beginning to stir, bringing significant and valid questions with it. I choose to be part of the stirring.)

I like the linked post because it includes facts and figures that would take me some time to gather and present. The writer has done the work, brings background, thought and clarity. His topic? Existence of an economic/political elite in our ‘democracy’.

I have suggested danger from this elite in a number of ways in my own posts. (At least I hope I have, I have also posted comments to news media, to published articles, to running dialogues on the web, and sometimes lose track of specifically what I have said where!) There is consistency in my thoughts, however, that links Big Government to Big Corporate Power. I have described a ‘co-dependent’ function between them.

I have also suggested that by our (acquired) beliefs, we ‘co-dependently’ “feed into”, and support, practices developed in the power relationship between Big Government and Big Corporate Power. I have urged examination of personal belief systems – with emphasis on the need for this so we can release our own “brainwashing”.

If we ‘romanticize’ our ‘democratic system’, our ‘best country in the world’ belief, and insist ‘any profit earned by anyone in any circumstance is deserved’, we weaken the very strengths on which this nation was founded. It was founded against tyranny. It was founded on principles that we can, individually and collectively, manage our affairs in such a way as to assure best outcome for each individual. It was founded on a sense of “working together” toward this outcome.

The writing of our founding documents was a shared process; the Revolutionary war was a shared process; throughout time we have joined in shared efforts against tyranny, such as exclusion of women from voting, such as the Civil War, such as the Civil Rights movement.) In all these cases, there was much arguing, much disagreement, but there was eventually sufficient agreement that a form of tyranny was in place and needed to be righted in the name of Justice. Will to recognize tyranny, and name it, and clean house, is how we came to be respected by a larger world of nations. They valued our shared will to do this.

Our international standing was based on our refusal to allow excess from any quarter. It was based on our insistence that, if need be, we will clean up tyranny in our own country. The will to stand against tyranny, whether its target be an individual or a group of citizens, is the special mark we have made in world affairs.

Enough from me! I refer you to the article I found on this matter. I ask you to read it thoughtfully. I ask you to consider its validity – to set wishes and romanticism aside.

The price of freedom is eternal vigilance. I believe we have been ‘coasting’, resting on imagined laurels of what “America” is all about. We have lulled ourselves into self-satisfaction. We have neglected eternal vigilance on behalf of self and on behalf of others within our citizen body. The article (by Mark Ames**): http://www.alternet.org/workplace/143146/8_shocking_ways_the_billionaires_have_schemed_to_rob_us_of_every_last_%24?page=3

It is not my inclination to declare ‘an enemy’. It IS my inclination to stand up and say to another, or to a group of others: “You, by your actions, have encroached on my value, my worth, and the value and worth of my fellow citizens – it is time to reign in your power, to balance it, to level it.” In personal co-dependency issues, it is said the tyrant does not learn until tyrannical behavior is challenged. I believe the same is true in larger social/political arenas.

My Best to EACH and ALL! – MaggieAnn

**For readers wary of ultra-‘left’ thinking, I ask you to remember “The Emperor’s New Clothes”. I ask you to consider the value of Mr. Ames’ points without attaching romanticized notions of “free enterprise and profit” to large scale corporate practices. I ask you to consider where “excess” originates, how it develops. I ask you to believe that excess is possible from any quarter. I ask you to ask yourselves how ‘royalty’ developed “way back when” out of smaller tribal groups that may have first practiced consensus model decision making. I ask you to consider all human hard wiring, from helpful to less than helpful.

Additional note: I believe, given our ‘small world’ that this kind of tyranny is global. After all, I believe it is based in ‘who we are as humans’. But significant tyrannical practices are within our borders. Here at home, it is our task to address it

About maggieannthoeni

A description once given of me was "rooted in the earth while roaming the stars" - and this has felt 'right'. I believe in something akin to this for each of us. I am a passionate supporter of discovering the autonomous self while serving the whole as primary intent. I believe in discovery of innate principles, clearing the overlay of socialization that obscures this from us. I believe it is our responsibility to leave no one behind - most particularly to respond to suffering as best we can whereever we find it, whenever we are made aware. I believe in this for the insect as well as the most magnificent form of humanity. I believe in brother/sisterhood without boundary. I believe in righteous indignation when it is appropriate, but do not believe in an enemy. I believe in consciousness, in intelligence, in logic, in rationality, in emotion, in transcendence - and am convinced until we generally practice explore and honor all this in ourselves, we remain profoundly immature. (I believe real maturity is known and practiced by many young children, and not enough adults!)
This entry was posted in Philosophy/Psychology/Human Nature, Social-Political and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Economic Tyranny As Practiced In America

  1. Isadore says:

    The ruling ‘class’ in the U.S. depends on the existance of a relatively large number of powerless, ignorant, distracted, and poor people, formerly referred to as ‘the proletariat’ by Marxists , a rose by any other name, is still…..
    powerless,ignorant,distracted, and poor.

    Population of the U.S., appx 340 million
    Number of millionaires in U.S. appx 2.5 million
    Number of billionaires in U.S. appx 360

    The base of the economic pyramid upon which the throne of the rich and powerfull rests is made up of some 337 million or so relatively powerless, mostly ignorant, continually distacted, moderately to extremely poor people (7.5 million of this ‘underclass’ are either behind bars, on parole , or on probation) another 1.5 million of this ‘underclass’ are. serving in the U.S. military, 6.2 million are teachers…there are more than a million more convicted criminals in the U.S. than there are teachers! As Jimmy Durante was so fond of saying. “What a revoltin development dis is turnin out ta be!”

    “Economic tyranny as practiced in America” is nothing new, it is the way of empires and has been practiced since the birth of empires thousands of years ago and will continue till the death of empires sometime in the hopefully not too distant future. Till then suffer on, for tyranny will not go away of its own accord and untill the dawn of a new enlightened age will be a constant reminder of better things to come.

    • maggieannthoeni says:

      Your statistics are impressive, and I thank you for taking time to gather and share them! The point in “power of the populace’ is that we exist in large numbers. IF we can get ourselves out of ignorance, out of our comfort zone, out of our ‘assumed, unquestioned’ powerlessness. And IF, while we are doing this, we can hold ourselves to idealism shown by Gandhi and MLK Jr, among others, THEN, perhaps we’ll see what stuff Humanity is actually capable of accomplishing! I hope my two posts today contribute to reducing our lack of information (ignorance). I also hope folks take time to read your comment which has so much numerical information we all need to “chew on”! Every time we speak up on these general malaise, we help with the necessary waking up! Thank you, so very much! –MA

Leave a Reply

