Health Care Reform, Non-Profit Public Plan

FINAL STATEMENT (FOR NOW) ON HC REFORM

Last Call for Strong, Robust, Non-Profit American Public Plan (for now!)

  

 Dear Readers!

 What I post here is the body of my morning note to my two senators, my congressman, and to the Whitehouse.  Lots of ‘bold’ font use in this post — to match the ‘inner boldness and sincerity’ I feel!

 I do not expect all readers to agree with me. I share here for what may interest you in my ‘final statement’. I have been writing “these guys” (referenced above) for lo, these many months. I have used every ‘argument’ in my mind that supports universal health care, (best accomplished as single-payer, but for now a “robust” public plan will do).

 This late in the game, I also do not expect my ‘final statement’ to have much effect. Opinions, biases, and preferences among policy makers are surely settled by now. I sent, and now post here, my statement more for the effect it has on me, the experience of once again stating my case. It is my way of “going on record” for social policy that I believe in very deeply.

 My main final argument is that without such a plan, those of us who both welcome and financially need such a choice, have instead no choice. No choice for a health care program that matches our belief in health care as a right, a belief founded in Principles of Compassion. We also have no choice to support a non-profit public plan as the fiscally responsible means of “husbanding human resources” with “best bang for buck”.

 “Best bang for buck” in health care through non-profit delivery offers three new experiences to the American public: 1 – surprising release from constant fear and stress over availability of health care, 2 – sudden and surprising experience that “people, in my country, care about one another”, and 3 – sudden freedom in mind, body, and spirit among the citizen body to participate in visionary thinking, become entrepreneurs, begin to realize dreams now squelched or on hold due to worry, suffering, debilitation and bankruptcy (not to mention outright death, and loss of citizen contribution to family and community!)

 If doubters think the American “can do” mentality is a good thing – wait until another 40 million or so come “on-line” once released from market-driven denial of Health Care. (I remind readers I have 40 years adult experience with the Canadian system, and do know what ‘single-payer’ can deliver, ‘warts and all’!)

 Here is the body of my text in the letter I posted a few minutes ago to recipients named above: 

*********

Dear …..

Health care reform must drop the concept of wellness as commodity to be bought and sold.

 Nothing short of a strong, robust, American non-profit public plan immediately available as choice to each and every citizen will do.

 I care not whether this results in ‘economic distress’ for insurance companies. As stated above, I do not find any conscionable role for profit in a wellness program. I am solely interested in addressing wellness distress!

 Anything but a strong, robust, American non-profit public plan immediately available as choice to each and very citizen asks those of us who would choose such a plan to “not have a choice”.

 Anything but a strong, robust, American non-profit public plan immediately available as choice to each and very citizen asks those of us on restricted incomes and extreme tight budgets to willingly cough up $$$s that will go, in part, for profit.

 Anything but a strong, robust, American non-profit public plan immediately available as choice to each and very citizen asks those of us without insurance, or underinsured, to willingly “be polite”, and accept bankruptcy, debilitation and death.

 I have said before to all policy makers, I say again: It is your task to think through value of deep non-profit reform, explain its value to those who do not yet understand, make a courageous stand, and vote/sign accordingly.

 Cars, TV sets, speedboats — a good place for profit to be made. Profit in a wellness program? I don’t think so!!

 Were there not ‘economic arguments’ to continue slavery? Were there not those who felt it “reasonable” to “ask/tell” an entire body of people to “be polite, suck it up and stick to the program”?

 I want to sound respectful, but I do not feel my needs, and needs of millions more, are respected – unless we are given full choice to sign up with our limited dollars to an immediately available strong, robust, American non-profit public plan.

 Sincerely, and Best Wishes!! —

 *********

And there you have it! My final (for now) statement on HC reform!

Re my reference to slavery. I have no interest in suggesting most health care sufferers face the scale of suffering faced by slaves. Nor would I make such an argument in comparison to sufferers of the WWII holocaust. My argument is meant to draw attention to how economic “truth” is sometimes taken as “unalterable TRUTH”, even when the result is very real and deep body and mind suffering of others. These “others” are deemed “not worthy” and worse. They are separated out from “benefits of civilization”. This is unconscionable no matter when or how, or to what “issue,” it is applied. Denial of health care and wellness support to some, based on rationalization that it’s “OK” (and “reasonable”) because most people have it, is very wrong, deeply so.

I do not expect to continue writing on HC at the pace I’ve used up to now.  But I do not intend to drop the subject. What is happening in Washington will unfold according to what has been established to this point. I, and many others, are not finished discussing this, even if for a bit we appear “quieted”! 

My Very Best To Each and All – MaggieAnn

About maggieannthoeni

A description once given of me was "rooted in the earth while roaming the stars" - and this has felt 'right'. I believe in something akin to this for each of us. I am a passionate supporter of discovering the autonomous self while serving the whole as primary intent. I believe in discovery of innate principles, clearing the overlay of socialization that obscures this from us. I believe it is our responsibility to leave no one behind - most particularly to respond to suffering as best we can whereever we find it, whenever we are made aware. I believe in this for the insect as well as the most magnificent form of humanity. I believe in brother/sisterhood without boundary. I believe in righteous indignation when it is appropriate, but do not believe in an enemy. I believe in consciousness, in intelligence, in logic, in rationality, in emotion, in transcendence - and am convinced until we generally practice explore and honor all this in ourselves, we remain profoundly immature. (I believe real maturity is known and practiced by many young children, and not enough adults!)
This entry was posted in Health Care, Social-Political and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Health Care Reform, Non-Profit Public Plan

  1. Isadore says:

    Half full vs. half empty is as far as I go with positive thinking, making the best of a bad deal and looking for the silver lining.

    YES, we are , whether we admit it or not our sisters/bothers keeper, and they are our keeper. With a mutual support system like that functioning how could we go wrong?

    • maggieannthoeni says:

      Re: “YES, we are , …our sisters/bothers keeper, and they are our keeper. With a mutual support system like that functioning how could we go wrong?”

      Big Sigh! Such a mutual support system seems so simple in concept, and like such a good deal! It’s astonishing we are so slow to notice! One would think after thousands of years quarreling we’d want a change! :)–MA

Leave a Reply

