Open Letter To President Obama – Economy and Values

Open Letter To President Obama – Economy and Values

Dear Readers!

I have several intended posts waiting in the wings.  Meanwhile, the day has unfolded as it has, and I’ve written President Obama.

I do appreciate the White House site, the ‘contact’ opportunity, and urge you to make use of it.  It can make a difference, and when you use it, you are speaking up – an important citizen responsibility!

Here is my post – posts to the Whitehouse are restricted to 2500 characters, so this one lacks elaboration and some phrasing I would otherwise use.

********

Dear President Obama,

Only the most partisan ‘anti-Democrat’ does not note extreme difficulties faced by this nation and by you as our President. Multiple ‘crisis’ fronts – traditional (economic, warring), and ultra-modern (environment).

I’ve observed. I’ve concluded so far that you may be overly committed to perspectives of your “generation”. I speculate, but it stands to reason. Is always true in part.

Friedman’s approach to economic ‘health’ is dangerously short-sighted to ‘ordinary income’ business people and workers. Yet you have (it appears) repeatedly held mega-corporate guidance as ‘solution’ to deliver overall economic well-being.

Your arbitrary exclusion of single-payer from your HC ‘summit’, first raised my curiosity – and stress levels! Because of your top-down decision to not honor single-payer presentations, the American public is not aware of the benefits. Democratic consideration denied. I need not describe loss of a non-profit public plan.

You ‘top-down’ promote merit pay as a way to curb costs. Cynical. Carrot-stick ‘encouragement’ to ‘best’ providers, without awareness of countless not motivated by ‘money’, whose primary motivation is to service, with fair, honorable, compensation for expertise and training. ‘Merit pay’, to anyone entering a service career, suggests “career value is measured by income.” MONEY!!

Why the measurement of value by money? “Tony Robbins” and others of his expertise, and of your “generation”, say “income proves worth”. Your generation uses ‘money as measure’.

Friedman and Robbins are very much of the time in which you shaped your ideas of “human potential”. Both have pitched to “success” measured by wealth and power.

I am very familiar with the “human potential movement”, have “swum in the waters”. I am not directly familiar with Friedman. But I’ve heard most of the ideas offered by Naomi Klein in “Shock Doctrine” multiple times. If you have not read it, I suggest you do so immediately. Immediately!

I KNOW you do not intend lack of belief in “ordinary people” but you demonstrate this lack. It’s as if you have good intellectual comprehension of basic human capacity but lack gut-level understanding of the immense contributions of ‘ordinary’ people, and also the deepening distress they face without health care, without employment,

… skills, wisdom, capacity … wasted.

Yours Truly, …

********

My Best! –MaggieAnn

About maggieannthoeni

A description once given of me was "rooted in the earth while roaming the stars" - and this has felt 'right'. I believe in something akin to this for each of us. I am a passionate supporter of discovering the autonomous self while serving the whole as primary intent. I believe in discovery of innate principles, clearing the overlay of socialization that obscures this from us. I believe it is our responsibility to leave no one behind - most particularly to respond to suffering as best we can whereever we find it, whenever we are made aware. I believe in this for the insect as well as the most magnificent form of humanity. I believe in brother/sisterhood without boundary. I believe in righteous indignation when it is appropriate, but do not believe in an enemy. I believe in consciousness, in intelligence, in logic, in rationality, in emotion, in transcendence - and am convinced until we generally practice explore and honor all this in ourselves, we remain profoundly immature. (I believe real maturity is known and practiced by many young children, and not enough adults!)
This entry was posted in Analysis, Corporatism, Education, Health Care, Philosophy/Psychology/Human Nature, Social-Political, Stewardship and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

