Market Response to Disaster Understandable But …

Dear Readers!

Japan’s extremely powerful earthquake  has caught our attention and concern.

With qualifying statements (‘finances are not the most important  focus right now’), BBC radio, minutes ago, touched on effect on  insurance giants stock. That made me wonder how much ‘market chat’ is at play.  Not a great deal in my quick search, but certainly market players are keeping close watch.

This from Reuters:

While the full extent of the quake’s damage was still being assessed, analysts said the images and reports so far did not suggest a major economic and financial disaster. Construction companies such as Kajima Corp were seen as potential gainers.

(source: REFILE-JAPAN MARKETS-Stock fall may be limited post-quake, damage eyed | Reuters.)

So I’m thinking… I easily understand the ‘logic’ of financial market response to major events, both natural and human-created.  But the logic only holds “within the box” of traditional and existing economic ‘paradigm’.  Economic structures are a human-made. They are not rooted in irrefutable laws of the material universe, or even such laws as may be true of a non-material universe! We’ve invented, developed, the existing structures out of traditional, ‘evolved’, systems.  Our purpose has been to resolve  “resource management and distribution” needs.  These systems develop like other technologies, as in transportation for example. As we’ve  done with other inventions, we can re-design economics.

I wonder if we can design economic structures that foster equitable distribution of essential resources and services in such a way that we outgrow concern for fortunes lost or gained in times of anguish.

I wonder if we have the courage and belief in our creative capacities to do this.  I wonder if we have the confidence – to trust in, to follow the lead of, our deeper compassionate natures.

If you’re asking me – do I, personally, have that much confidence in human potential to invent compassionate and justice-driven economic systems? The answer is “Yes.  I do. The potential, even the impulse, is in-born, is part of our essence.”

“We’ll have to understand and release deep-buried insecurity issues first”, I would add.

?? –MaggieAnn, just thinking, just asking … just wondering (about the 21st Century)…??

About maggieannthoeni

A description once given of me was "rooted in the earth while roaming the stars" - and this has felt 'right'. I believe in something akin to this for each of us. I am a passionate supporter of discovering the autonomous self while serving the whole as primary intent. I believe in discovery of innate principles, clearing the overlay of socialization that obscures this from us. I believe it is our responsibility to leave no one behind - most particularly to respond to suffering as best we can whereever we find it, whenever we are made aware. I believe in this for the insect as well as the most magnificent form of humanity. I believe in brother/sisterhood without boundary. I believe in righteous indignation when it is appropriate, but do not believe in an enemy. I believe in consciousness, in intelligence, in logic, in rationality, in emotion, in transcendence - and am convinced until we generally practice explore and honor all this in ourselves, we remain profoundly immature. (I believe real maturity is known and practiced by many young children, and not enough adults!)
Gallery | This entry was posted in 21st Century Vision, Corporatism, Critical thinking, Economics, Education, Geopolitics, Global Economics, Philosophy/Psychology/Human Nature, Social-Political, Stewardship, Universal family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

