Hear Ye, Hear Ye: American-Born Is He!


Stork Hear Ye, Hear Ye - Obama b.certificate

Stork source, cksinfo.com

Dear Readers!

It’s true, I’ve written more complaint about Obama’s presidential decisions than praise.  I’ve issued almost steady complaint. I’m not sure I’ve yet expressed agreement, much less praise.

I don’t expect perfection, but I do insist that “product performance” at least appear to try to match “as advertised”. From my observation, what we see is not even close to what was described (suggested?) by him during his campaigns. If “consumer mentality” is what we common folk are presumed to practice and demonstrate, then I, for one, am a ‘fussy’ consumer.

(Fundamentally, I strongly object to overlaying citizen responsibility and governance wishes with ‘consumer’ stereotype. But with campaigns and other forms of snake-oil persuasion being what they are, there’s a validity to the stereotype. My urge, then, would be that we all become “critical and fussy consumers”!)

Here it is – my bit of praise! I do appreciate that President Obama has held out so long to deliver his long-sought, long-form birth certificate copy! I agree with him: the clamor that has not gone away, about his birth place and legitimacy as President, is a distraction and, as he said, “silly”. I appreciate that it’s reached a stage where it’s wiser to ‘give them what they want’ than to continue ignoring the fuss.

When I rounded up a copy of the birth certificate for this post, I glimpsed a few headlines about “easily forged”. You don’t suppose the certificate will prove “unsatisfactory evidence”? Let’s hope most of the ‘birther’ energy will be-redirected to more thoughtful and necessary questions that need attention. The birthers represent a lot of ‘thinking-power gone to waste’,  potential that could contribute much – if used with sincere honesty and integrity, and used well!

I also caught word that Donald Trump says he’s pleased he’s been able to play a significant role in closing this issue down – or something along those lines.

First I was annoyed at Trump’s remark, “Is there no end to the spinning?”. My quick follow-up thought was: “Well, maybe Trump has, indeed, been the spark that was needed to get us past this silly birther issue.

Then I remembered one of my favorite quotes: “Timelines are for high school textbooks. History itself is all indirection and angles, actions and events caroming off one another, one unintended consequence glancing into the next.” [David Rothkopf, Foreign Policy, (Article on Arizona shooting aftermath, 1/12/2011): blog subtitle: “How the World is Really Run”].

Rothkopf’s statement is one I find confirmed again and again. One unpredictable action, with unintended caroming consequence, follows another! As debris accumulates itself into what we then call ‘history’, it turns out the trivial sometimes has astonishing ‘power’ in what develops.

Good to post a brief note on a topic I don’t take too seriously! And to find myself complimenting President Obama at the same time!

My Best! –MaggieAnn
(PS! Soon after above post: I spoke too soon! As day goes on, BBC radio’s American coverage strongly indicates neither Trump nor the birther crowd is ready to contribute thinking-power to real thinking, on real issues. The caroming continues.).

About maggieannthoeni

A description once given of me was "rooted in the earth while roaming the stars" - and this has felt 'right'. I believe in something akin to this for each of us. I am a passionate supporter of discovering the autonomous self while serving the whole as primary intent. I believe in discovery of innate principles, clearing the overlay of socialization that obscures this from us. I believe it is our responsibility to leave no one behind - most particularly to respond to suffering as best we can whereever we find it, whenever we are made aware. I believe in this for the insect as well as the most magnificent form of humanity. I believe in brother/sisterhood without boundary. I believe in righteous indignation when it is appropriate, but do not believe in an enemy. I believe in consciousness, in intelligence, in logic, in rationality, in emotion, in transcendence - and am convinced until we generally practice explore and honor all this in ourselves, we remain profoundly immature. (I believe real maturity is known and practiced by many young children, and not enough adults!)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Education, General, Social-Political and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

