Notes on new page – LIST OF ON-GOING TOXIC ENVIRONMENTAL DISASTERS, NATIONAL AND GLOBAL

Earth in trouble - where, how much, how enduring is the damage?

Earth in trouble – where, how much, how enduring is the damage?

Dear Readers!

New page lists on-going toxic environmental disasters. It’s also linked under “Essential Practices”, right hand column of this blog.

Page purpose is to help us recognize just how wide-spread environmental destruction due to human activity has become by early 21st Century.”

I’ve manged only to get the list started. Some items have info and links – others wait to be developed or to be added to the list. 

 You may be able to help!  See page for criteria items must meet to be included in list.

There are two reasons I’m establishing the list regardless of incompleteness.

(1) It’s been on my mind for at least a year that lists such as this need to be accessible and I’ve not easily found any. I begin the page, but others may be able to contribute list items or provide details and links. The idea is to make the page a strong and helpful resource.

(2) Circumstances in my life are such that sometimes the only way I can get a valued project underway is to go-ahead and begin. If I wait until I have a block of time to ‘do it properly’ I usually find several years have gone by and the project is still only a ‘thought’!

It may turn out that the disasters list page is redundant. Others may provide this kind of list elsewhere, and provide it very well. If I learn of that – I’ll be pleased to link to that instead of whatever I manage to create.

By the way – here is one list I found not long ago that includes events that would fit my criteria, as well as events from many years back – scroll down through ‘top ten’ for other disasters listed.

Now … off to get at my ditch digging (literally!)

My Best, and Thanks!! – MaggieAnn

About maggieannthoeni

A description once given of me was "rooted in the earth while roaming the stars" - and this has felt 'right'. I believe in something akin to this for each of us. I am a passionate supporter of discovering the autonomous self while serving the whole as primary intent. I believe in discovery of innate principles, clearing the overlay of socialization that obscures this from us. I believe it is our responsibility to leave no one behind - most particularly to respond to suffering as best we can whereever we find it, whenever we are made aware. I believe in this for the insect as well as the most magnificent form of humanity. I believe in brother/sisterhood without boundary. I believe in righteous indignation when it is appropriate, but do not believe in an enemy. I believe in consciousness, in intelligence, in logic, in rationality, in emotion, in transcendence - and am convinced until we generally practice explore and honor all this in ourselves, we remain profoundly immature. (I believe real maturity is known and practiced by many young children, and not enough adults!)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Earth care, Global Economics, Stewardship and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

