Adam Curtis’: “The Century of The Self” (video)

Century of Self - Adam Curtis's BBC mini-series informs us of our vulnerability to persuasions by 'science of public relations'. The influence shows in consumer and political 'choices'.

Century of Self – Adam Curtis’s BBC mini-series informs us of our vulnerability to persuasions by ‘science of public relations’. The influence shows in consumer and political ‘choices’.

Dear Readers,

‘Duh’. I’ve posted what I’ve learned of availability of Adam Curtis’s BBC 4-part documentary: “The Century of The Self” here “Problems viewing Adam Curtis’ BBC series …. You might want to read it – I’ve discussed growing ‘non-availability’ of the series for free public viewing.

In the post, I’ve also explained exceptional value to society of the series.  Voters and consumers need opportunity to learn of 20th Century’s history of developments in ‘the science of public relations’.  Curtis explains our psychology – our vulnerability to manipulation by ‘public relations’ industry – and how successful that industry has been in its efforts to convince us on consumer and voter choices.

“Buyer beware” works better if the buyer is aware of his/her subconscious ‘decision drivers’!

In my above-linked post, I’ve also given other information I discovered while trying to locate a reliable source for free public viewing of the series.  This includes mention of what Adam Curtis hoped to achieve (with link to his own statement on this).

But the ‘duh’ part!  It only occurred to me today that I should embed the Vimeo post right here!  At this time Vimeo is the only free-viewing source – both direct at its site, and as an embedded version at a topdocumentaryfilms.com.  (Links to both are at my above mentioned post.)

Here is the full version of Adam Curtis’ “The Century of The Self”.  All four episodes are ‘one viewing’, about 4 hrs in length.  With greatest gratitude to ‘therebel.org’ who posted on Vimeo! (And with greatest gratitude, also of course, to Adam Curtis. I wonder if he can ever fully realize how invaluable much of the public has found this series. I am only one of hundreds if not thousands who have recommended it time and again.)

(I ordinarily don’t use Vimeo as my computer system doesn’t handle it very well. I hope this is not common – and that this post works well for you!)

My Best –MaggieAnn

About maggieannthoeni

A description once given of me was "rooted in the earth while roaming the stars" - and this has felt 'right'. I believe in something akin to this for each of us. I am a passionate supporter of discovering the autonomous self while serving the whole as primary intent. I believe in discovery of innate principles, clearing the overlay of socialization that obscures this from us. I believe it is our responsibility to leave no one behind - most particularly to respond to suffering as best we can whereever we find it, whenever we are made aware. I believe in this for the insect as well as the most magnificent form of humanity. I believe in brother/sisterhood without boundary. I believe in righteous indignation when it is appropriate, but do not believe in an enemy. I believe in consciousness, in intelligence, in logic, in rationality, in emotion, in transcendence - and am convinced until we generally practice explore and honor all this in ourselves, we remain profoundly immature. (I believe real maturity is known and practiced by many young children, and not enough adults!)
This entry was posted in Critical thinking, Economics, Education, Language Use, Philosophy/Psychology/Human Nature, Social-Political and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment